Tuesday, 21 January 2020

Montane Prism Gloves review - mens - large

Have you ever had cold hands out in the mountains? I've had cold hands many times, once climbing Fiacalli Ridge in the winter with just a pair of lightweight 'working' gloves! Now that got cold until a quick change into my only remaining gloves changed things (lesson, always go out with 3-5 pairs of gloves!!)

Montane Prism gloves - image courtesy of montane.co.uk website


My experience of the Prism gloves came in the Cairngorms on a seriously windy day (60-70mph gusts and constant 45mph). We'd started in the Sugar Bowl car park just around the corner from the road up to the Cairngorm Mountain car park, walked via the icy and snowy Chalamain Gap and down into the Lairig Ghru before heading back into the Rothiemurchus Forest. We'd stayed low due to the high winds which just got increasingly intense through the day.

Chalamain Gap


Into the Lairig Ghru - furiously windy to the extent that standing up proved an issue!


The main issue was taking photos that day as it was an incredible weather day and atmosphere. Added to the fact that my friend had lost her phone, I ended up taking a few photos and cold hands followed! I did have a pair of mitts in the bag and had already replaced my wet gloves but neither pair were touchscreen compatible.

My friend suggested her (men's small) Prism gloves which I just about managed to wriggle on! I wore them for about 2 hours.

I kept them on until we got lower in the forest as the wind was blowing incessantly until about 400m. In this time I took several photos with the Prisms and my hands instantly warmed up and stayed warm. The windchill that day was around -11C.

So here are my observations...

These are brilliant gloves if you need some quick warmth on your fingers. Yes, mitts are often warmer but I found these warmed my cold hands very quickly, within a minute or so. It wasn't raining so I can't comment on that but we all know that synthetic insulation like Primaloft does stay pretty warm when wet.

The gloves are very lightweight and pack down very small (Montane show them to be about the size of an apple). In terms of sizing, I found that I could put on a pair of mediums in the shop but went for a large in the end. My hand circumference is somewhere in the region of 22 inches - if that helps!

The outer material is pertex so of course it isn't very strong. I personally wouldn't use them for any kind of scrambling or lots of hand on rock. I wouldn't use them with poles for any length of time either. Something like the Super Prism with the added hypalon on the palm would work better for this (these are also warmer with more Primaloft in) - or gloves with a more resilient outer fabric. These aren't designed for intense use though, so don't think of them like that.

The touchscreen element (like many other gloves) is fine when touching the screen to access the phone and get to your apps but I found I really had to hit the screen a few times to take a picture or even to open apps. This isn't uncommon on touchscreen gloves, however. The 2019AW version has a black plasticy kind of outer fabric on the fingers for the touchscreen. These feel a bit flimsy and like they might 'crack' at any moment - time will tell. You always have Montane's guarantee to back you up however!

Update... having headed up to the Gorms in March 2020 during the amazing snow and weather I can now say the gloves do not work with touchscreen regularly, so if you are buying gloves for this, then like many other gloves they won’t work consistently!

Coming back from Coire an t-Sneachda


The Prism gloves will be an essential pair of gloves I'll pack and take with me as a backup pair or a general glove when it's cold. While expensive (despite getting them for a reduced price), I'd highly recommend them. If you need a warmer glove in the same ilk then get the Super Prism gloves. They are a bit less lightweight (but still very light and packable). The Super Prism gloves have a stronger palm and 130g of Primaloft and are slightly longer - but they don't have touchscreen compatibility. The regular Prism gloves are touchscreen compatible and have 40g of Primaloft in them.

I took a long time choosing between the Prisms and the SuperPrisms but in the end went for the Prisms for the touchscreen compatibility. I can get a liner glove underneath these and will use a cheap liner glove (with more resilient outer gloves). I don't think you can lose whichever glove you choose. Chris Townsend said in TGO Magazine that he'd used the Rab equivalent of the Prism and it was his now his go-to glove.

The choice is yours...!

Some relief lower down in the Rothiemurchus Forest!

Tuesday, 29 October 2019

Review of Karrimor X-Lite 8L Running Pack

This little running pack has been a brilliant add-on to my list of 6 rucksacks...

Sadly as of the time of writing, Karrimor have seemingly stopped making this little beauty. No idea why, although they are doing the 15L version still...

It was on a trail run in 2017 when I decided I needed a smaller lightweight running pack. Trying to run with a strapped down 32L pack became quite comical - almost as comical as my fitness level trying to run up a scree slope and mountain that day...

"I must get a running pack" I kept on repeating, convincing myself that this was obviously the key to my improved running times... Fitness and training may work for some, but for me it's getting a running pack... Or something like that.

Attempting to keep up with a friend up the scree

The pack has a top opening (on the picture below, the zip runs around the black material), a space for a small hydration bladder (inside the pack at the back as usual) and a front zipped pocket. The Karrimor logo is reflective and the small bits of material that hold the yellow bungee also have reflective elements. The hydration bladder can run out of the pack to the back left or right which is useful.

To the rear of the pack there is a mesh bit which won't do much but it really doesn't matter with a running pack. There is a 'waist belt' of sorts which is enough to help keep the thing attached to you when running, as well as a chest strap. Two zip up side pockets are great and the mesh outers just about hold a 500l water bottle but only just.



Inside the pack there's enough for me to stash a drink, some food and an insulated layer.

The outer material is lightweight. It is ripstop but I have slightly damaged my pack on the front as it's not designed to be super-resilient. Still, it's nothing that McNett tape won't fix (I've had that stuff on an old rucksack and gaiters for years without it coming off!)

Recently I've even used it for cycling, stashing a fair bit of kit - repair kit, pump, food, lightweight chain, repair tools, extra layer. Definitely not its intended use but it had more than enough room.

This cost around £8 or so when I bought it in 2017. For running it's perfect. I can't see why it's been discontinued or why anyone would use a 15l pack except doing longer runs or ultras. And then I'd probably buy a more features and well-known pack anyway, just in terms of reliability. For what it is, it is brilliant.

I'm not a gear snob but (as always) the low price does make me think about where it was made and the conditions of the workers (let alone the poor quality conditions of Sports Direct staff and the allegedly questionable business practices of its management). That aside this is a well-featured running pack and for the average amateur runner needing a small pack it's perfect.


Thursday, 11 July 2019

Simond Men's Mountaineering Pants Review

Over the last couple of winters I've been using the Simond Mountaineering Pants for general outdoors wear and mountain excursions. Simond kit can be found at Decathlon and has gained a reputation as having some excellent kit at very good prices.

Trudging back crampon-less from Coire an t-Sneachda on a very icy March day!


Having used a pair of Sherpa winter pants that I'd got cheaply on eBay and having been impressed with their resilience, I took a punt on the Simond pants simply so I had two pairs of winter trousers (from experience!) My conclusion is that I've started wearing these Simond ones almost exclusively.

Simond Mountaineering Pants - from decathlon.co.uk website

These are very resilient pants. Decathlon says they have a 275gsm weave but in English that means these are good for climbing, scrambles and pottering around in. The inside of the lower legs are reinforced and nice and tough for protecting from crampon scratches - or at least helping! In practice I wear gaiters anyway so while the gaiters have been torn, the pants have been protected!

The pants are quite fitted in terms of wearing them but without hindering movement. They definitely have some added articulation which I've found perfect for climbs, scrambles and walking over boulder strewn hills and moors.

Murk on Dartmoor in winter
The pants also come with accessories that would make me consider wearing them even on skis - there are some detachable inner gaiters which although I haven't used are very helpful. I think they'd just about fit over ski boots. The pants also come with detachable braces. If you haven't used braces in winter then it can be a useful, if acquired, taste. But simply to have these with the pants and the fact they can be removed just adds to their value.

Update March 2020 - I did wear these for skiing in the Cairngorms and they worked a treat - the outer zip at the bottom helped me get them on over skis and then was able to buckle them up over the ski boots, absolutely brilliant!

Skis at Cairngorms, was holding my bag between my legs so image looks a bit weird!


Can't find any close-up pics of the pants except these - with the Rab gaiters guesting...

The lower leg has a zip and the option to close them on one of two snappers, which gives you a decent fit over boots. In practice I've found these can cause the pants to ride up the boot a bit. Not a deal breaker and this can be slightly remedied by choosing to close the pants on the slightly 'looser' popper giving the pants more space over the boot.

Winter course on Blencathra, image courtesy of Grahm Uney
The tops of the pants also have zips on the outside of the legs for added venting option. Useful especially when hacking up deep snowy wanders or moving fast - I tend to get very hot and then get cold quickly, so venting helps!

In terms of pockets, there's a zipped leg pocket at the front of the right leg. This isn't at all huge but good for stashing some small gloves, food etc. The main pockets at the sides are zipped and again they are not huge, meaning that if you've got a larger phone with tough case on, you may not be able to fit in the pocket. This is one area where the pants need a tweak - larger pockets please. The toggles are fairly long and grab-able in winter snow with a liner glove or larger glove.

I've seen some reviews on Decathon saying these are a slightly strange fit, but I haven't found that to be the case! The pants don't have a belt or belt loops, so if they don't quite fit, use the braces. At the top there is zip fly with a couple of clips for you to get a good fit around your waist. As I say I have found these to move very well with me and not hinder movement at all.

A wintery and gloomy Blencathra


My advice is to try a pair and see if they work for you - if they do, then at £50 they're a ridiculous bargain!

Happy winter days!




Monday, 31 December 2018

Environmental responsibility in and out of the outdoors!

If you drive anywhere, you'll see our countryside is strewn with litter. Far too many people demand many rights but live without responsibility. In a throw-away society with little that is valued, people live in much the same way. The trouble is that with every packet that gets thrown down there's a consequence; every item that is irresponsibly discarded leaves its mark, with the impact being felt in animals, birds, insects and humans. There's a bit in the Bible that says we reap what we sow. And our natural environment is no different.

Hound Tor, Dartmoor with my sister near the top
One day myself and a friend went bouldering at Hound Tor on Dartmoor. But instead we saw some litter and started picking up litter around the north side of the Tor. We filled two bags we found and then some...

It was horrible work without gloves but once we started and saw the need, we couldn't help ourselves. And every time I'm in the mountains or on the Moors, I am finding and picking up litter. I recognise many others do the same.

We can't do everything. But we can can all do something. And our little something can become a big thing if we all do our part.

There's a famous story of a beach full of starfish and one boy throwing starfish backing the sea one at a time. Someone tells them there are too many and what the boy is doing won't make a difference. "It made a difference to that one" the boy replied, as he threw another starfish back into the water...

So what can we do and equally important, how can we be responsible in the outdoors and out of the outdoors? Thankfully in the last few years, some companies are thinking in this way too, especially as consumers demand more ethical and environmental responsibility. Looking back, it's hard to believe that outdoors manufacturers would be doing things that were harmful to the environment in the first place. But this is perhaps thinking with hindsight. What's important is what we do now and next.

Here are some things that manufacturers are doing, along with some ideas of what we can do and encourage others to do... Please note I have no connections with any of the mentioned companies and am not paid for anything I write.

1. Patagonia - https://eu.patagonia.com/gb/en/environmentalism.html


It is impossible to mention sustainability and the environment without Patagonia being at the top of the list. Not only were Patagonia set up with sustainability and green credentials in mind, they have delivered since day one.

Things such as their 'Worn Wear' idea where clothes are freely repaired or repurposed was a pioneering idea. To this day, Patagonia can be found at places like the Kendal Mountain Festival freely repairing clothing from all brands. Of course they also pioneered using non live-plucked down feathers in their jackets too.

Patagonia are also ones who give out grants, support environmental projects, reducing their impact on the environment and working to make their products have a lower carbon footprint. Their most recent campaign to protect Europe's wild rivers ('Blue Heart Campaign') has raised great awareness of the destructive impact of dams in wild areas.


2. Vaude - https://www.vaude.com/en-GB/Company/Project-Campaigns/


Vaude's range of 'Green Shape Core Collection' is set of products that are sustainably based, such as those from wood cellulose and recycling pre and post consumer made products.

This is a fantastic range of materials and ideas that Vaude should be hugely commended for. Vaude also have a 'second use' ebay shop, another helpful idea (ebay.de so it's in German / Euros).


3. Primaloft Bio - http://primaloft.com/primaloftbio


Primaloft Bio is 100% biodegradeable and sustainable according to Primaloft. These fibres, available in 2020 only biodegrade once they meet with landfill materials, so don't fade or fail before time, with the fibres returning to natural materials 100%.

This process takes just one year, unlike for example polyester which remains almost intact after the same amount of time.

Again, this is brilliant piece of news for the environment and outdoors industry. Brilliant to see Primaloft not only investing in this but making the news public (often innovations are kept secret for years due to marketing forces). Of course Primaloft already to their Eco range of fills which have apparently saved 85 million plastic bottles from landfill.

Other Ideas


Descending Swirral Edge
Of course many other companies also have sustainable and environmental policies and activities. Companies such as Nikwax, Graingers and jacket manufacturers moving away from harmful PTFEs in their products are excellent ways ahead, as are manufacturers working to reduce carbon footprints and make more sustainable clothing - Alpkit, Fjallraven, Haglofs etc.

Startup products that are using wholly or mostly sustainable materials are also to be commended.

What we as consumers need to think about is what happens to our item of clothing etc once it has finished its usefulness. Here are some ideas...

1. Can a used or unused item be donated to the incredible Gift Your Gear to support young people and other groups - http://giftyourgear.com

2. If not Gift Your Gear, then can you donate to the Salvation Army, a clothing bank in your area or similar? How about giving away unused items anyway.

3. Can you buy from and support companies with ethical and environmental policies to avoid creating the problems in the first place?

4. When you're out in the hills, pick up litter and support groups who work to fight against the kinds of selfishness we see in the Trossachs for example around Loch Lomond where mindless people simply abandon tents and items they don't want. Places like Glastonbury now give away used abandoned tents, but the issue should not be there in the first place.

Educating people about the outdoors should be a priority from outdoors companies. Are there any companies that would like to take up that baton? As a schools worker, I'd be more than happy to help!

5. One of my friends used to work for Cotswold at a leading store. She purposely encouraged the manager to take recycling more seriously. Before her interventions, the store was not always recycling packaging properly due to focusing on sales, so she suggested doing so. By the time she left for another job, the store was recycling more effectively. I hope it continues to do so.

I'd also like to encourage every single outdoors retail store to make recycling, reducing carbon footprint etc much more seriously. Showing you act sustainably, ethically and have integrity will always positively affect business. Not doing so will negatively impact business.

Final question is to every one of us reading this - how are we going to act to make a positive difference? Not acting is no longer an option, especially if you say you care about the outdoors.




Friday, 1 June 2018

Montane Halogen 33 Rucksack Review / First Look

Having used the Montane Medusa 32 for some years now (since its release) and it having seen some battering, I was intrigued to see what the new model was like - the Halogen 33.

So what is the Halogen 33 rucksack like and how does it compare? This isn't an 'out in the field' review but some initial thoughts and pictures to show some of the differences.

In this picture review, the Halogen 33 is the red rucksack and the Medusa 32 is the 'greeny-orange' pack, for want of a better colour description..!

Quit Your Waffle - Cut To The Chase

The Halogen 33 is an upgrade in a number of ways, not all of them obvious. There's a *better ventilation system, a slightly bigger size, tall side pockets, an adjusted hip belt, what appears to be a slightly contoured shoulder strap. The gear loop on one of the hip fins has been replaced by a pocket. The shoulder straps and hip belt has had the old 'contact mesh' replaced by a different lighter 'contact air mesh plus'. The pack is slightly lighter than the Medusa 32 by about 80g.

Overall, I would say that the old Medusa 32 had a nod towards climbing (even in winter) with a gear loop on the one hip fin, whereas the Halogen 33 appears in my view to be aimed more towards walkers. The pack is still incredibly sturdy. As with everything I'd say try it on with weight and see if it's the pack for you.

Size

First things first - the Halogen 33 is a bit wider - and the Medusa 32 is a bit 'taller'. It's hard to see in the picture as obviously the Medusa 32 (left) has been heavily used and is compressed in the picture.

Montane Medusa 32 (left) and Montane Halogen 33 (right)

The Front Of The Halogen


The Halogen has bungee cord on the front as standard (Medusa has cord inside the inner lid as an option). The Halogen also has an upgraded tool lock at the bottom for an ice axe. The Medusa has had this tool lock system developed over time. Finally, the hip fins both have zipped and are slightly contoured ('fish' shaped), unlike the Medusa fins have are more of a 'straight' fit

Front of Halogen 33

Front of Medusa 32

The Straps


As you'll see the Medusa 32 didn't have mesh styled straps whereas the Halogen 33 does. It's also more flexible than the slightly more rigid Medusa straps.

Mesh on the Halogen shoulder strap (right)

The shoulder straps on the Halogen appear to have a slightly contoured angle around the top of the 'shoulder' which does help with the comfort of the pack.

Slight contouring of the shoulder strap

The mesh on the hip belt is shown below. Again it's nice and squishy to touch and won't be abrasive to clothing.



Front of the Pack

The bungee cord stretches across the front of the pack as 'standard'. The Medusa has some spare cord in the inside lid of the pack if you want to rig up some bungee at the front - useful for stashing clothing or even crampons at a push...

Bungee Cord

And here's the tool loop. Stash the ice axe down the front of the pack as with the Medusa, put the adze through the lower loop (pictured left in pic), through the 'alpine safe sleeve' and then twist the lock (the metal bit to the right in the picture) into the the hole in the adze to secure it. More info on Montane's website. The tool system is much neater than my original Medusa system which flaps around.

Tool Attachment Points
The hip fin on the Halogen doesn't have a gear loop as the Medusa had. Instead there's another hip fin pocket instead.



The ZephryFX Back System


Replacing the Medusa back system is the Halogen's ZephyrFX contact mesh back system. In essence there's a lightweight moulded back pad with mesh on the top. To wear this is pretty comfortable it has to be said and rests against the back more securely than the Medusa's ridged back. The area in contact with the back is also wider on the Halogen, again adding to comfort.

Halogen contact meshed back

Montane Medusa back system

Close up on the mesh with the moulded back pad behind

Close up on the mesh

The mesh itself seems fairly resilient but I'd be slightly concerned about the possibility of it breaking or snagging. However, the mesh is very flexible so that works in its favour.

The back lengths are the same on both packs (S/M) and (M/L). Pictured are M/L packs.

Side Pockets

The Halogen has a great side pocket feature - the baguette pocket - a side pocket that stretches further up the pack than is normal and much higher than the Medusa. It means poles can be stashed in there more securely, plus things like a flask. There is a gap half way down the baguette pocket so you can get something in the lower side pocket. The opening at the top of the baguette is slightly stretchy but isn't very wide so you won't get a Nalgene bottle in there!

The arrows show the size of the side pockets (Medusa below)

Side pockets on the Halogen (top) and the Medusa (underneath)

Lids

The lid has a slightly upgraded draw closure system ('Cord Lord Lite') and the inside of the pack has an amended 'Cord

Inside the Halogen 33

Halogen 33 (top) closure compared to original Medusa

Other Features


Front Haul Loop next to the lid

Click and Go chest strap release

Conclusion


When I got a Lowe Alpine pack years back (before they were bought out), the back system on the pack wrecked 2 baselayers and damaged a softshell. So when Montane released the Medusa 32 with a back system that didn't abrade clothing, I got the pack without question! Since then it's served me incredibly well.

The Halogen 33 is a worthy upgrade and the baguette pocket is especially helpful. The pack actually sits against the back more comfortably than the Medusa. I'd be interested to know how the Halogen functions in the snow compared to the Medusa which has shed snow relatively well.

I am also slightly uncertain about the new ZephyrFX back system in terms of durability and not snagging when a pack gets thrown down etc. But I'm sure it will breathe more effectively than the Medusa as the gaps in the back moulding are deeper and the mesh will allow set out and away.

Finally the Medusa does have more of a nod to climbing so if that appeals then you may need to look elsewhere (Lower Alpine, PodSacs, ME etc) for their climbing specific packs.

Otherwise the Halogen is a worthy upgrade.



Wednesday, 31 January 2018

'Britain's Favourite Walks: Top 100' on ITV

The ITV programme, 'Britain's Favourite Walks: Top 100' has caused a bit of a stir.

In my view, rightly so. Too many flat city walks and nowhere near enough walks in Scotland!

On the other hand, it does mean the better routes are left for the rest of us to do in quiet. Result!

My best walks are exclusively in Scotland, Snowdonia, Brecons, Lakes & Howgills, Peak District, Dales, Pennines and Dartmoor. OK, so there are some other cracking venues but for me the outdoors means mountains and wilderness (and for that you need to be in Scotland).

So here are some of the best walks I've done / recommend:

- Helvellyn via Striding / Swirral

- Helvellyn via Nethermost Pike and back down by Dollywagon Pike, Lakes

- Coledale Round, Lakes

- Fairfield Round, Lakes

- Coniston / Wetherlam, Lakes

- Blencathra via Sharp Edge and Halls Fell, Lakes

- Snowdon via Crib Goch and down via Y Lliwedd, Snowdonia

- Tryfan to Bristly ridge, Glyder Fach, Snowdonia

- Y Gribin, around the tops and back down via Hell's Kitchen / Cwm Idwal, Snowdonia

- The Cobbler, Arrochar Alps

- Aoanach Eagach ridge traverse, Glen Coe

- Buchaille Etive Mor and its four 'tops', Glen Coe

- Ben Nevis via CMD Arete

- Ben Macdui via Fiacaill Ridge, Cairngorms

- The Mamores (can do all in a day but better to take some at a time)

- The Torridon Hills (Beinn Eighe, Liathach, Beinn Alligin, Torridon Munros

- Ben Lomond etc, The Trossachs

- The Cuillins (pretty much anywhere), Isle of Skye

- The Newlands Round, Lakes

- Buttermere - Fleetwith Pike, Haystacks, Red Pike

- High Cup Nick, Cumbria

- Malham Cove, Yorkshire

- Belstone / Yes Tor / Black a tor Copse, Dartmoor

- Carnedd Dafydd / Carnedd Llewellyn via Mynydd Du

- Lochnagar, Cairngorms

- Pretty much anywhere around Glen Coe!

- Scafell Pike / Scafell either via Lord's Rake or via Corridor Route from Seathwaite or from Langdales, Lakes

- The Langdales / Crinkle Crags / Bowfell, Lakes

- Nantlle Ridge, Snowdonia

- Cadair Idris, Snowdonia

- An Teallach, Northern Highlands (Scotland)


The list could go on....

And on...

Tuesday, 30 January 2018

Rab Latok Alpine Gaiters Review

I've been using the Rab Latok Alpine gaiters for two years now.

Previously I was using a pair from 'Highlander' but these started to show the classic signs of cheaper gaiters - namely they were unbreathable and caused more moisture inside the gaiter than they kept out. The same is true of clothing and hard shells in general.

The lesson is don't compromise but wait and buy what is good quality unless you absolutely cannot. The Rab gaiters are quality!
Rab Latok Alpine Gaiter - image from Rab's website

These have travelled to Wales, Scotland, the Lakes and Dartmoor and have been invaluable. Not only do they help keep rubbish and muck and rain from your trousers or waterproof hard shell, they are hard-wearing and do what they need to do. They've got a tough exterior and a crampon patch on each gaiter all the way around the lower part of the gaiter.

The gaiter features a velcro closure, a popper at the top, a drawstring at the top, a strap over closure at the foot of the gaiter and a hook to connect to the laces of your boot. There's an adjustable strap for under the boot which can be adjusted from inside the gaiter cleverly.

Drawstring at the top of the Rab Latok Alpine gaiter


These have been worn in the snow, the rain, the mud and on ice. They've climbed up things, scrambled over things, walked through Dartmoor heather and gorse and held up pretty well.

Rab Latok Alpine Gaiter showing velcro, strap, closure tab, hook etc


The eVent has breathed brilliantly as expected and the only issue has been that the eVent on the rear section of the gaiter has begun to rub away on the stretchy part. Nothing too serious but being stretchy and strapped to the back of the boot inevitably causes some wear. Seems to have happened on one gaiter more than the other.

Where the gaiter's eVent has 'rubbed' on the inside, presumably from the back of my boots


The gaiter did get a rip in one of the gaiters from one of the spikes on my crampons (always a risk), so I patched it up with Tenacious Tape which has been pretty solid. This didn't happen on the stronger corder lower leg part but on the 'normal' gaiter part (

Inside of the Rab Latok Alpine gaiter showing the eVent material

I did think I had a picture of the Gaiters on in the snow, but in fact you can't see them. Sorry...

Halls Fell in the snow (from slushy snow to nevé). Can't see the gaiters, sorry. But there were on!


I did a mini review of these on the Go Outdoors website, which says the following:


They've gone through 'field and fountain, moor and mountain' (not always following yonder star) but been brilliant. They've been scrambled in, walked in, climbed in, 'summer, spring, winter and fall' and even suffered an ice axe piercing (tenacious tape to the rescue). Incredibly breathable compared to other non 'branded' membranes, easily adjustable and strong velcro etc. I did get them in large as a medium male but possibly could have got them in medium. The back section (around the heel) which is stretchy (great idea) is beginning to lose some of the eVent on the inside but aside from this, all good!


The final thing to say about the gaiters is about the sizing. Mine are the large and while they are fine, I wonder whether medium would have fitted better. My feet are size 9 1/2 - 10 (UK) and I've got an athletic build if that helps.

So overall these are brilliant gaiters and when they give out I'll get another pair. No problems with the eVent and breathability. I've cleaned them fairly regularly with Tech Wash and have re-proofed once. They're gaiters. They work. Say no more.